Hung Sum Restaurant

Dim Sum anyone? First off, it’s not your typical dim sum restaurant, there will be no carts in this little place! It’s a small unassuming restaurant on 870 Somerset Street near the outskirts of Chinatown, right by Preston and Somerset. I’ve lived in Ottawa practically my whole life, I’ve been to Chinatown countless times…and I’ve actually never noticed this place. It’s a shame…to think of all the deliciousness I’ve missed out on…sad face.

But now that I do know about it, let’s say I need to hit the gym a little more and a little harder to justify each visit.

*(This is a super belated write-up – so the pictures are from two separate visits. I missed taking some pictures of certain dishes because they were devoured too quickly…true story, lol).

IMG_2087

Chicken Feet with Black Bean Sauce

First up – what’s Dim Sum without a little Chicken Feet, amiright? I’m no chicken feet connoisseur and they are not my favourite dim sum item, but I did enjoyed these. The sauce was delicious and not overly greasy. Now I know a lot of you don’t like it, won’t like it or won’t try it, but if you can get over what they are, they are pretty yummy, a little cumbersome to eat, but good nonetheless.

IMG_3078

Shrimp Shiu Mai

IMG_2091

Pork Shiu Mai

IMG_3079

Shrimp Har Gow

Deep Fried Shrimp Dumpling

Deep Fried Shrimp Dumpling

Deep Fried Shrimp Rolls

Deep Fried Shrimp Rolls

Shiu Mai, Har Gow and Deep Fried Shrimp goodness – a dim sum outing wouldn’t really be complete without any of these, would it? No, it wouldn’t. Everything came piping hot and fresh to order – our only issue was remembering to wait for it to cool, forgetting about that, and subsequently burning our mouths due to our impatience. lol. No regrets ; )

And now for the not-so-staple dim sum items!

Chiu-Chow Style Pork Dumpling

Chiu-Chow Style Pork Dumpling

These Chiu-Chow Style Pork Dumplings were soooo freakin’ good! The stuffing was diced pork, with crush peanuts, chives (I think) in a sauce that I would guess is a variation of black bean, I should have asked for specifics..but whatever it was, it was delicious!! Like, really, really good. It’s the first time I’ve seen or tasted anything it at dim sum, and we made sure to order seconds…and then some!

Rice-Noodle Roll with Crispy Donut

Rice-Noodle Roll with Crispy Donut

It’s a crispy Chinese donut wrapped in a steamed rice roll, served in a hoisin/soya sauce….what’s not to like? This is one of my more recent favourite dim sum dishes, I can pretty much clean an order to myself…easy. I’ve actually had this one other place, here in Chinatown, and with the exception of the peanut butter (yup – I did in fact mean to type peanut butter) and if I had to choose, I’d choose the PB version, but it’s a close one.

Chinese Pork Belly & Sausage with Rice

Chinese Pork Belly & Sausage with Rice

Now this last dish isn’t ‘dim sum sized’. It’s form the Chef’s Specials menu, and the Chinese Pork Belly & Sausage with Rice is exactly what it sounds like, except that it comes in a cast-iron pot, so the rice at the bottom was burnt to delicious-perfection! And I don’t know about you, but I love Chinese sausage (a staple in my household!) so there really wasn’t any way to not order this. But it was our first visit here when we had this, and it came at the end of some major over-ordering on our part, lol.

And although we were all stuffed, we also didn’t leave anything behind…either time. On top of amazing food (and did I mention great prices?), the people here are great – so nice and friendly and they’re pretty quick to replace the tea too : ) The food wasn’t as quick, but we couldn’t complain because everything came fresh – and everything is made to order. If you want to have a taste, I highly recommend calling ahead and reserving a table! It’s a small place, and both times I’ve been, it’s been packed – so having a reservation is a good idea.

Check out their Facebook page here.

Enjoy!

Laura XO

Leave a Reply

